IE feck off!

Dreamweaver & Flash (ahh ahhh) plus Web related Tutorials & Resources, HTML, CSS, PHP, Flash or whatever.
Post Reply
odog
Big Bird's nest fluffer
Posts: 168
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 8:58 am
Location: The Emerald Isle (Oirland)
Contact:

IE feck off!

Post by odog » June 6th, 2006, 5:40 pm

I am currently redesigning my website and foolishly tested in FF alone, thinking the CSS was so damn good not even IE could muck it up :wink: . Oh the naivety of it all :? .

The problem I am having is that IE is giving a div element a larger margin than I have given it in the CSS. This in turn is breaking the layout.

I have margins globally set to 0 and all margins are in ems because I intend to make the layout liquid (I probably could set them in px if it would help).

I never really wanted to use hacks in my CSS, but I suppose if this is a hack related issue I'd be willing to use one.

The url is http://www.owenmcg.com/fitzwilliamxchange/default4.html
and the problem is with the #contentwork div's left margin.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Owen.
The sooner you fall behind, the more time you have to catch up.

Paul Stones
Ernie's rubber duckie
Ernie's rubber duckie
Posts: 283
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 11:00 pm
Location: Onanism zone

Post by Paul Stones » June 7th, 2006, 6:01 am

What version of IE / system are you testing on?

odog
Big Bird's nest fluffer
Posts: 168
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 8:58 am
Location: The Emerald Isle (Oirland)
Contact:

Post by odog » June 7th, 2006, 7:57 am

Paul Stones wrote:What version of IE / system are you testing on?
IE6
The sooner you fall behind, the more time you have to catch up.

Paul Stones
Ernie's rubber duckie
Ernie's rubber duckie
Posts: 283
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 11:00 pm
Location: Onanism zone

Post by Paul Stones » June 7th, 2006, 3:58 pm

I'm not sure what's going on, to be sure mate.

(a) Your code validates according to w3
(b) The code should render in compliance mode, according to the source I looked at.
(c) My first thought was "box model hack" but IE6 in compliance mode shouldn't require this.

Plus, I don't have IE on my Mac any more ...

I'm perusing the css code now. Not promising anything, mind!

Paul Stones
Ernie's rubber duckie
Ernie's rubber duckie
Posts: 283
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 11:00 pm
Location: Onanism zone

Post by Paul Stones » June 7th, 2006, 4:06 pm

css code looks fine to me. Might be better resorting to pixels rather than ems, at least to try it out in IE6.

odog
Big Bird's nest fluffer
Posts: 168
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 8:58 am
Location: The Emerald Isle (Oirland)
Contact:

Post by odog » June 8th, 2006, 8:12 am

Thanks Paul. I tried it out with pixels the other day and it works fine. So I suppose I'll just put this one down to experience. It is quite strange though isn't it (nothing is with IE :wink: )?

I was fairly certain that the HTML and the CSS were sound, which they are, so this is a strange one :? .

Thanks again Paul, much appreciated.
The sooner you fall behind, the more time you have to catch up.

Paul Stones
Ernie's rubber duckie
Ernie's rubber duckie
Posts: 283
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 11:00 pm
Location: Onanism zone

Post by Paul Stones » June 8th, 2006, 10:03 pm

No problem mate, sorry I couldn't solve the problem.

odog
Big Bird's nest fluffer
Posts: 168
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 8:58 am
Location: The Emerald Isle (Oirland)
Contact:

Post by odog » June 10th, 2006, 9:38 am

For anyone who read this thread and was wondering what was wrong it was this

IE Doubled Float-Margin Bug

If you put display:inline in to the element that appears to be receiving the double margin it displays correctly.

Yay :D !
The sooner you fall behind, the more time you have to catch up.

Paul Stones
Ernie's rubber duckie
Ernie's rubber duckie
Posts: 283
Joined: January 6th, 2006, 11:00 pm
Location: Onanism zone

Post by Paul Stones » June 10th, 2006, 9:37 pm

Bloody Microsoft! :evil:

Glad you found the solution mate. Must make a note of it myself.

Post Reply